Profoundly Random

Heru who?

I grew up in a Southern, Baptist Church. Every Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Sunday you could find me devoting some time to worshiping God. I never “caught the spirit” but I watched my mother, grandmother, and great grandmother (three generations of strong women) lay their problems on an alter and somehow things would work themselves out. I was a devout believer that someone out there was listening and answering prayers

Until it was time for my prayers to be answered and it seemed no one was listening…

I was about nineteen when I began to question religion. I had started to feel disconnected from everything and couldn’t find my place in the world. Despite my positive works and devotion to the church, I had not grown closer to this said God and I had not found peace. In fact, my mind was in overdrive and I couldn’t pray or tithe well enough for the savior to rescue me.

He had rescued my mother, and my grandmother, and my great grandmother… right? So why not me?

I started questioning my mother and my grandmother. They would bristle and become defensive… so I stopped asking and started doing research.

The first thing I reviewed was history. When did Christianity begin and what was its purpose? This led me to the question, “Well, what was there before Christianity?” I had studied my bible growing up, and there was an uncanny resemblance across religions and cultures to many of the books… parallels that only made sense if I viewed religion as a civilizations interpretation of something they did not understand.

I had noticed the similarities before I began to question everything. I was a believer in religious tolerance and couldn’t understand how we could condemn an entire CULTURE for their beliefs and say they were going to hell because they called their God by a different name? Does God not have different names according to the bible anyway? Jehovah Jireh? Elohim?

Now this post isn’t about how Christianity evolved into a vessel of spiritual imprisonment for aboriginal people. No, that post will come later. This is simply about where I believe the story of “Jesus’ Birth” came from.

Enter Ausur, Auset, & Heru.

According to the mythology of things, Ausur (Osiris) and Auset (Isis) were married, but Set killed his brother Auset before the two could consummate their marriage. His body was spread in 14 pieces across Egypt. Auset and her sister, Nepthys, gathered the pieces to put Auset back together again so that he could be resurrected. But they were unable to find the pieces (his penis was missing). Some say that Auset turned into a bird and Ausur’s spirit impregnated her. Others say she fashioned a golden phallus and the deed was done. Either way, she became with child from her dead husband (who sadly returned to his dead state).

So, how is this the story of Jesus, you ask? Let’s compare some quick similarities.

  • Both Heru and Jesus were born to “virgins”. I put this in quotes because the real meaning of virgin is that neither of the marriages was consummated. Religious people may argue that Mary and Joseph were not married but if we consider “Jewish” custom, when a couple is betrothed, they are considered husband and wife.
  • Both Heru and Jesus were only sons.
  • Heru was born from a spirit (his resurrected father) and Jesus was born of God’s spirit.
  • Auset had to protect Heru from his evil uncle who wanted to kill him. Mary had to protect Jesus from King Herod, his uncle.
  • Heru’s foster father was Seb, the “Earth God”. Joseph was Jesus’ foster father, his “Earthly father”. Both step fathers are of Royal descent.
  • Heru was the god of light for Egypt. Jesus was the light of the world.
  • Set took Heru to a high mountain to temp him with glory.  Satan took Jesus on a mountain to view the kingdoms and tempt him. Both resisted the temptation.
  • Heru was known as KRST, the anointed one. Jesus also called Christ the anointed one.
  • Both resurrected after death. Although there is speculation on both sides, the resurrection ideal is consistent.
  • The way to salvation is even similar. In the story of Heru, from the Ibed, there is this phrase “I have given bread to the hungry man and water to the thirsty man and clothing to the naked person and a boat to the shipwrecked mariner?” In the story of Jesus, there is a bible verse in Matthew that states, “For I was an hungered, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me…

8010011

And these are just some of the similarities I have found in my personal research. I am not saying that Christianity is a direct reflection of Egyptian myth, but the similarities definitely imply that most religions are based off the stories carved into the stones of the African lands and written on the papyrus.

My only questions is this:

Is it not logical to assume that the reasons that the stories are parallel in a sense is because the author was inspired by something they had heard and or seen before hand? 

Leave a Reply

